Reformed Baptist Fellowship

Wolfgang Puck in the Pulpit

In Reformed Baptist Fellowship on June 18, 2010 at 6:34 am

Wolfgang Puck is one of the bright stars among today’s “celebrity chefs”.   He prepares amazing food served up in tantalizing style.  Why does he cook?  What drives him day after day to the kitchen?  I believe he does so because he loves to cook.  I’m certain that he loves the celebrity, fame, and wealth that his skills have earned him.  In many ways he does what my wife does several times a day.  He prepares food in a kitchen. My wife prepares food in the kitchen. He loves to cook and so does she.  He enjoys experimenting with new foods and flavors just like my wife does.

But there is a crucial difference.  What drives my wife to the kitchen time after time is love. Not love for food. Not love of praise. Not love for fame or fortune (I can only afford to pay her a pittance). What drives her to the kitchen is love for me and love for our children. It is love for those who visit our home.

Over the years I have met hundreds and hundreds of preachers. I have heard many of them testify that they ‘love to preach’.  I love to preach too. Why do we love to preach?  Many love the exhilaration of preaching. Many love to study and to open the text. Some love the praise, appreciation and, yes, even adoration that can come with the job. There are some who run the risk of becoming celebrity chefs cooking up food for no one in particular.  They do not know nor do they truly love the people who eat their food. What their hearers do with the food is a matter of indifference.  They are cooks in the back room of a restaurant creating food for strangers and not shepherds who know and love and serve their flocks.

My study gets awfully crowded sometimes.  I have my church in there with me. Not literally, but truly and really nonetheless. When I am crafting a sermon, breaking it down, creating illustrations and praying over applications it is for them. They are coming hungry.  I know who ‘they’ are.  I love them, I am committed to them. I want to feed them and encourage them and challenge them.  Not just people, not just sheep, but the sheep entrusted to our care.  This is the difference between a preacher—gifted and talented and useful though he may be, and the pastor.  It is the difference between a chef and a mother.

Jim Savastio, Pastor
Reformed Baptist Church of Louisville
  1. Jim,

    1. Really good stuff. Thanks!
    2. You pay your wife? 🙂

  2. Amen. That was very good and a blessing and encouragement. Thank you.

  3. Very pertinent, thank you.

  4. Amen, Pastor Jim! And thank you for not only imparting to us the Gospel but your very life as well!

  5. Pastor James, and thanks to you for the same!

  6. Your congregation is blessed, Pastor. I know we are, too, because we have just that kind of pastor.

  7. Excellent “food” for thought. My heart is in full agreement as I read your post.

    Thanks Jim for posting it!
    Curt Arend

  8. Like button….click!

  9. […] Wolfgang Puck is one of the bright stars among today’s “celebrity chefs”.   He prepares amazing food served up in tantalizing style.  Why does he cook?  What drives him day after day to the kitchen?  I believe he does so because he loves to cook.  I’m certain that he loves the celebrity, fame, and wealth that his skills have earned him.  In many ways he does what my wife does several times a day.  He prepares food in a kitchen. My wife prepares f … Read More […]

  10. Your flock is blessed abundantly with you as their undersheperd, Pastor Savastio. I greatly enjoyed the article. Thanks.

  11. back to the sermon with a clearer vision! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

