Reformed Baptist Fellowship

Fights Worth Having

In Reformed Baptist Fellowship on July 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

I have thought numerous times that I don’t ever want to blog again.  Or, if I do, to write ‘safe blogs’.  Maybe something like, Pizza tastes good!   Or The Blueness of the Sky, or  Water is wet.  I don’t like controversy.  I don’t like fighting.  I don’t like people judging me or my church.  I especially don’t like it when it is in the blogosphere.  I grew up in a family led by a verbally, emotionally, and on occasion, physically abusive father.   I suppose it has left its mark on me.  But there are things that I need to fight about.  There are arguments that we need to have.  There are two or three arguments that I find especially helpful.

The first is the argument that few seem to have.  It is the argument over who takes the lowest rung on the ladder.  Paul identified himself at times in ‘negative terms’.  He is the chief of sinners, he is the least of the apostles, and then, in Ephesians 3 he says that he is less than the least of all the saints.  I hope that there is a sense in which we would all want to argue with him for a couple of those positions.  It strikes me that we would be better off arguing who is the worst than who is the best.  I like the little biographical blurb I read from a pastor in which he begins by describing himself as the ‘worst sinner he knows’.  He obviously has never met me.  I  read the book ‘Humility’ by Mahaney a few months ago.  I appreciate his desire to express humility by speaking of what an idiot he could be about this or that.  My response was to give a snort and say, what an amateur!  Believe me, he has nothing on me.

A second argument is that of blessing.  I have gotten into some real knock-down, drag out fights over who has the best wife or who has the best church.  I have been to some great churches, both as a worshipper and as a preacher.  But I love being home.  No one, but no one gets to pastor a better group of  redeemed sinners than I do.  Want to fight about it?  Go ahead, make my day!

Jim Savastio, Pastor
Reformed Baptist Church of Louisville
  1. I’m afraid I can’t make your day but I can tell you that in my family we fight about who can be the wone to help by doing something for each other. My son-in-law just had surgery on his shoulder and must not use that arm yet it does not keep him down as to doing what he can for his wife and me. I think it comes because we recognize God’s grace in our lives and being forgiven of our sins.

  2. 🙂 Great Post.

Leave a Reply

