Reformed Baptist Fellowship

The Voice of the Martyrs

In Reformed Baptist Fellowship on November 9, 2010 at 1:14 pm

I subscribe to the Voice of the Martyrs newsletter, and the cover picture of the September issue really touched my heart. I have become more and more convinced over the years that one of the primary signs of regeneration is found in a person’s obedience to, love for, and respect of, the Word of God. Christians long for Scripture. They long to read Scripture, possess Scripture, meditate upon Scripture. And there seems to be an inverse relationship between how much we love it and how much access we have to it. We in the West take it for granted, and as such, our passion is often pathetically tepid. But here you have a sister in Laos reading a burned, tattered Bible. God’s enemies have tried to destroy it, but it is still the Word of Life to her. Oh, may God grant to His people a renewed love for His Word in the face of the hatred of the world!

“If your law had not been my delight,
I would have perished in my affliction.
I will never forget your precepts,
For by them you have given me life.”
(Psalm 119:92–93)
.
James White
Alpha and Omega Ministries
  1. You are so right James White. The word is a quide and without it, we stumble and walk blindly.

  2. Quite a reproof! I’ll keep this reminder on my desktop. Also an encouragement to spread God’s word throughout the world.

  3. If I am not mistaken the picture of our beloved sister in Laos holding her burnt Bible has hands that are burnt as well. If I’m seeing this correctly what a glorious witness she is of her love to the living WORD our Savior! If I was told to hold out my bible and gas was poured over it and my hands,then I was given the choice of either droping it in a fire to be burned or the fire would be ignited with the book in my hands,would I cling to it or release it in an act of denial? May Almighty GOD grant me the grace and power to present my whole body to be burnt before I would ever let loose of His glorious living WORD!In other words deny our LORD by my actions.

Leave a Reply

