Reformed Baptist Fellowship

Enough, already!

In Reformed Baptist Fellowship on April 14, 2011 at 7:07 am

There is plenty for us to feel guilty about in our Christian lives.  We all fail.  In one area or another, at one time or another, every day we fail.  Not only do we fail, we actually sin.  In thought or word or deed.  There is not one Christian who is constantly all that he is called to be.  The same goes with the local church.  I’m sure many of us have wondered what the risen Christ would say to our local assembly if He were to address us along the lines of the seven church of Asia Minor.  Where are we strong in His opinion?  What are we failing in?   Where would He commend and where would He criticize?

One of the means by which we measure ourselves is the elusive ‘enough’.    Do I love God enough?  Do I witness enough?  Do I serve my brethren enough?  Am I involved in evangelism and missions enough?  Do we reach enough people?  Have we planted enough churches, raised up enough men to train for the ministry?

What exactly,  is enough?  How many people do we need to witness to to be enough?  How many souls do we need to ‘save’ to be enough?  How many churches can one church plant that is enough?  How many missionaries can we send out that is enough?  We can do more than we are doing and we can do more than others are doing but is that enough?  Protestantism rightly rejects the notion of supererogation.  The idea that you can do more than enough.   I’d settle to do half!

I’m sure you all realize only One did enough.  In fact He did all that the Father required of Him.  And He did all that the Father requires of me.  He did all the Father requires of my church.  That does not make me want to sit on my hands and do less.  To the contrary.  But it does help me to live my life centered on His sufficiency and not to gaze at my lack.

Jim Savastio, Pastor
Reformed Baptist Church of Louisville
  1. Brother Jim, I thank the Lord for these words that you have sent reminding us of the sufficiency of our Savior. Our church is in the process of electing elders and deacons and I have been suggested as an elder, I have been striving for excellence, but every day I feel so far from that goal. I know I should keep striving but your words bring peace to my soul. Thank you.

  2. Spot-on, Jim. It’s like saying, “Do you really believe in hell?” My answer to that is, “Well, of course I do.” But I also realize that my belief in hell does not impell me like Jesus was impelled due to His belief in hell. And I also realize that my belief in heaven does not impell me properly either. Sorry, I am a wretched man. As a matter of fact, asking the question “Do you really believe in hell?” and assuming that, though I do, I don’t live like I do, is law-preaching (very necessary, btw) and will expose sin and guilt and drive to Christ (hopefully), but it will not properly motivate me or anyone else to live like I believe in hell more consistantly. It will just keep us wondering if we live like we REALLY believe in hell or not, cause many souls to doubt their salvation unnecessarily and end up constantly crippled, and motivate others based on shame and guilt.

    Thanks for ending your post as you did. “We proclaim Him!”

  3. I hate typos! Impel has one “l” and “consistantly” should be “consistently.”

  4. I agree with Rich- I constantly misspell impel and consistently.

    Yes great post. I heard this once somewhere “God loves me just as Christ is”

    He did enough. He is enough.

  5. Amen.

    What a blessed reminder! Free justification by grace, through faith, in Christ. My acceptance with God is based upon nothing within me or done by me.

    Regeneration and sanctification are wonderful and necessary truths. Christ works in us as well as for us (He doesn’t do one without the other).

    Yet, what a necessity to live as a justified man. I have peace with God. My sins are no more. I am righteous in Christ. My acceptance with God yesterday, today, and tomorrow is based upon Christ. He never changes.

    My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus blood and righteousness. I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus name

    Thanks, Pastor Jim.

  6. Amen! That’s good news!

    “When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” Col. 3:4

  7. “For if there is first a willing mind, it is accepted according to what one has, and not according to what he does not have.”

    2 Corinthians 8:12 (NKJV)

Leave a Reply

