Reformed Baptist Fellowship

‘Grieving, Hope and Solace – When a Loved One Dies in Christ’

In Reformed Baptist Fellowship on August 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Today a new book by Albert N. Martin entitled ‘Grieving, Hope and Solace – When a Loved One Dies in Christ’ was released. This book will prove to be of great benefit for all God’s people as they consider the serious question of death.

Here is an exert from the preface:

“It was an ominous day in September of 1998. Marilyn, at that time my wife of 42 years, had just been diagnosed with cancer. That diagnosis was followed by six years of scans, radiation, surgery, and multiple regimens of chemotherapy. God was pleased to use these means to add six more years to Marilyn‘s earthly pilgrimage.

After being in a coma for three days, on September 20, 2004, at 6:20 a.m., just as the sun was rising, Marilyn died. I saw and heard her expel her last breath. Although in many ways she had been taken from me incrementally during her battle with that wretched disease, the reality of the finality of death and the radical separation it effects swept over me. A few moments later, as I picked up her lifeless body, I found myself asking the question – What precisely has just happened to Marilyn? What has she experienced, and what is she experiencing now?

Immediately I knew that if I were to grieve as I ought, I had to be able to answer that question out of the Scriptures with absolute certainty.  I had experienced much grief and shed many tears during those six years as my wife declined from a beautiful, youthful, healthy, and active 73-year-old woman to a bed-ridden invalid in a coma. Yet, when she actually died, I instinctively knew that I was now confronting grief of a new kind and of a greatly increased measure. With that realization there was born in my heart a passion that, just as I was being called upon to enter a new dimension of Christian experience, I would, by the grace of God, glorify him in that new experience. I felt very keenly the pressure of 1 Corinthians 10:31, ―Whether therefore you eat, or drink, or whatsoever you do [including how you grieve over the loss of a godly wife], do all to the glory of God.”

Thank you Pastor Martin for opening your heart and putting your pen to paper.

David Charles

  1. Thanks Pastor Charles: I proof read this intro while our friend Albert Martin was writing this book, and yet as I reread it in your post, I still felt swallowed up with emotion trying to feel what our brother was going through I hope it benefits many.

Leave a Reply

