Reformed Baptist Fellowship

My Chimeral Temptations or Reflections on Ricky Nelson

In Reformed Baptist Fellowship on September 15, 2011 at 6:28 pm

In October of 1971 former teen heartthrob Ricky Nelson participated in a Rock ‘n Roll revival concert with the likes of Chuck Berry and Bo Diddley.  Many in attendance were shocked by the changes in his appearance (long hair, bell bottom blue jeans, etc) and his decision to play new music.  His old fans booed him to express their displeasure.   Nelson would later immortalize that night with the song, Garden Party.  The gist of the song was, you can’t please everyone so you’ve got to please yourself.”

I confess that in my soul lives a man pleaser that I must constantly battle.  I would love to have everyone happy with me.  But to do so I would need to turn into a Chimeral nightmare.  A theological amalgam.  I have those who want me to sing only psalms, those who want me to only sing old hymns and those who insist that I sing mostly new.  I have those who want me to have a praise band and those who want me to sing without instrumentation.  I have those who want me more progressive and those who want me to be more rooted in the past.   I have those who are disappointed I am a Baptist and those who are grieved that I have not yet seen the light of Theonomy.   Those who want our church to be less distinct and more distinct.   Those who want more law from the preaching and less law, who want to hear things more practical and those who want more doctrine.  What is a man to do?  How does one decide?   I can tell you what I will not do-and that is insist on pleasing myself.   I will strive to listen, I will strive to learn, I will strive to grow.  That does not mean that I find every conflicting voice persuasive.  It does not mean that I find all the newer ways better than the old.  That does not mean that I and the church I am commanded to shepherd will alter every few years.  I cannot please everyone, but I can strive to please the Lord.

Jim Savastio, Pastor
Reformed Baptist Church of Louisville 
 
  1. Strangers to the left of me, strangers to the right; here I am, stuck in the middle again.

  2. Hello Pastor Savastio,

    I ran across this article yesterday:
    http://www.apuritansmind.com/the-puritan-era/puritan-evangelism-by-dr-j-i-packer/
    William Buck

  3. Good article Jim and very true. I am too hard core Reformed Baptist to one group, and a cuasi-heretic, Neo-Calvinist, Charmismatic to the other side. The blessing we have in Cornerstone, is that most do their judgment tongue in cheek, and the Lord has given us love and unity thus far

  4. 1. If this is the William Buck I think it is — GREETINGS!!!

    2. Excellent article that you have linked.

    3. Pastor Savastio — as another long-timer, I can sympathize — not so much with Ricky Nelson, but with you.

Leave a Reply

